研究方案:全球天使综合征登记处的发起、设计和建立

Dsc6127房车

M Tones 1, M Cross 2, C Simons 2, KR Napier 3, A Hunter 3, MI Bellgard 4, H Heussler 5

  • 1 澳大利亚昆士兰州南布里斯班马特医学研究所发育儿科组。
  • 2 澳大利亚昆士兰布里斯班安吉尔曼综合征治疗基金会。
  • 3 默多克大学比较基因组学中心,默多克,西澳大利亚州,澳大利亚。
  • 4 澳大利亚昆士兰布里斯班昆士兰科技大学电子研究理事会。
  • 5 澳大利亚昆士兰大学儿童健康研究中心。

抽象

背景:
Angelman 综合征 (AS) 是一种罕见的神经发育障碍,发病率在 1 15 分之一到 000 1 分之一之间。 这种情况会导致严重的发育和表达语言延迟、运动障碍和一种独特的行为表型,包括过度的笑声、微笑和社交能力。 尽管许多研究都提供了有关该综合征的原因和自然史的知识,但仍需要大规模的纵向研究来推进这种罕见综合征的研究和治疗。

方法:
他的文章描述了全球 Angelman 综合征登记的协议,以及一些初步发现。 由于 AS 的罕见性和症状表现的可变性,注册团队将努力进行完整的病例确定。 父母和看护人将通过安全的互联网连接向注册表提交数据。 该注册表由涵盖患者人口统计数据的 10 个模块组成; 发育、诊断、医疗和手术史、行为和发育、癫痫、药物和干预措施以及睡眠。

结果:
自 2016 年 470 月在 https://angelmanregistry.info 推出以来,全球已有近 59 名 AS 患者注册:23% 来自北美和南美,17% 来自欧洲,1% 来自亚洲太平洋地区和 16% 来自中东或非洲。 大多数注册者是儿童,只有 20% 的人年龄在 76 岁以上。 大多数参与者表示染色体缺失(20%),少数参与者表示突变、单亲二体或印记缺陷(XNUMX%)。

PaaS
调查结果表明,需要考虑针对年龄较大的儿童和成人的照顾者以及来自非英语背景的父母和照顾者的招聘策略。

关键词:
天使综合征; 看护者; 基于社区的参与式研究”; 父母; 罕见病; 注册表。

© 2018 MENCAP 和国际智力和发育障碍科学研究协会和 John Wiley & Sons Ltd.

随时了解最新的研究新闻

分享本页面

在下面选择您想要的选项,以共享直接链接到此页面

在Facebook上分享
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
分享到Skype
Share on pinterest
分享电子邮件

Research protocol: The initiation, design and establishment of the Global Angelman Syndrome Registry

Dsc6127 Rv

M Tones 1, M Cross 2, C Simons 2, K R Napier 3, A Hunter 3, M I Bellgard 4, H Heussler 5

  • 1 Developmental Paediatric Group, Mater Medical Research Institute, South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia.
  • 2 Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics Australia, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia.
  • 3 Murdoch University, Centre for Comparative Genomics, Murdoch, Western Australia, Australia.
  • 4 eResearch Directorate, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia.
  • 5 Centre for Children’s Health Research University of Queensland, Australia.

Abstract

Background:
Angelman syndrome (AS) is a rare neurodevelopmental disorder affecting between 1 in 15 000 and 1 in 24 000 individuals. The condition results in severe developmental and expressive language delays, motor impairments and a unique behavioural phenotype consisting of excessive laughter, smiling and sociability. While many studies have contributed knowledge about the causes and natural history of the syndrome, large scale longitudinal studies are required to advance research and therapeutics for this rare syndrome.

Method:
his article describes the protocol for the Global Angelman Syndrome Registry, and some initial findings. Due to the rarity of AS and the variability in symptom presentation, the registry team will strive for complete case ascertainment. Parents and caregivers will submit data to the registry via a secure internet connection. The registry consists of 10 modules that cover patient demographics; developmental, diagnostic, medical and surgical history, behaviour and development, epilepsy, medications and interventions and sleep.

Results:
Since its launch at https://angelmanregistry.info in September 2016, almost 470 individuals with AS have been signed up to the registry worldwide: 59% are from North and South America, 23% are from Europe, 17% are from the Asia Pacific region and 1% are from the Middle East or Africa. The majority of registrants are children, with only 16% aged over 20 years. Most participants indicated a chromosome deletion (76%), with fewer participants indicating a mutation, uniparental disomy or imprinting defect (20%).

Conclusion:
Findings indicate a need to consider recruitment strategies that target caregivers of older children and adults, and parents and caregivers from non-English speaking backgrounds.

Keywords:
Angelman syndrome; caregivers; community-based participatory research’; parents; rare diseases; registries.

© 2018 MENCAP and International Association of the Scientific Study of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities and John Wiley & Sons Ltd.

Keep up to date for the latest research news

Share This

Select your desired option below to share a direct link to this page

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on skype
Share on pinterest
Share on email